Skip to main content
A man smiling next to a service learning display

What is Community Engagement?

Community engagement describes the collaboration between institutions of higher education and their larger communities - local, regional, state, national, global - for the mutually beneficial exchange of knowledge and resources in a context of partnership and reciprocity.

Students Who Serve...

  • Rethink how they learn and why they value their education
  • Become involved in their communities by helping to identify and solve problems
  • Learn about our increasingly varied and changing world
  • Develop resourcefulness, a stronger inner self, and a clearer sense of personal identity
  • Become active learners rather than passive learners
  • Understand unique cultures and the people within them
  • Build closer connections between their campus and environment
  • Are more likely to succeed in their future careers
  • Gain significant real-life experience
  • Increase team-building skills by serving with other students and community members

Faculty Resources

Service Learning Guide

Katie Wheeler.jpg

Service on the Radio

 

Listen to Katie Wheeler discuss Service Learning projects at PPCC, including...

  • Partnering with the Boys and Girls club
  • Working with the local homeless community
  • Hosting a spooky haunted house

Click to listen to the radio clip!

 


ListofPartners

 More Ways to Serve:

Organization: Contact: Phone/Email: Volunteer Needs/Website:
Big Brother, Big Sister Nick Maiurro

(719) 568-4857

NickM@biglittlecolorado.org

Youth mentoring opportunities

www.BigLittleColorado.org

Boys & Girls Club

Maurice Henson

Jrace Rider

(719) 570-7077

mhenson@bgcppr.org; jrider@bgcppr.org

Youth development activities & mentoring

www.bgcppr.org/volunteer

CASA of Pikes Peak Region Uriko Stout

719-447-9898  ext 1060

UrikoS@casappr.org

Advocacy opportunities, educational and enrichment opportunities for children; and more

https://www.casappr.org/volunteer-colorado-springs/

Catholic Charities of Central Colorado Doug Rouse

719-636-2345

volunteerofficeWccharitiescc.org; drouse@ccharitiescc.org 

Various opportunities including: Marion House Soup Kitchen, & Handing out sack lunches.

More info and volunteer form at: https://www.ccharitiescc.org/donate/volunteer/

Catholic Volunteer Network

Cassie Kienbaum

(301) 270-0900

ckienbaum@catholicvolunteernetwork.org

Many opportunities in the U.S. and abroad

catholicvolunteernetwork.org/choose-service

Children's Literacy Center

Sandy McGraw

(719) 471-8672

sandy@childrensliteracycenter.org

Tutoring one-on-one in reading to children.

www.childrensliteracycenter.org/volunteer-to-tutor

Colorado Mission of Mercy

Pam

(720) 648-0919

pamcomom@gmail.com

Staffing events, Dental assisting

comom.org/volunteer

Cool Science Marc Straub

719-964-1042

marc@coolscience.org

Assisting with student science demonstrations; Annual Cool Science Carnival, and more

https://www.coolscience.org/

The Council of Neighborhood Organizations Sara

(719) 471-3105

sara@cono.org

Revitalizing neighborhoods

www.cscono.org

Discover Goodwill

Grace Vigil

(719) 785-9229

gvigil@discovermygoodwill.org

Processing donations, and much more

Marketing Intern (word document)

Volunteer Opportunities (word document)

www.discovermygoodwill.org/get-involved/volunteer

Haseya Advocate Program  

 

Addressing violence against women

http://www.haseya.org

Head Start Delberta Uvalle

719-232-5406

duvalle@cpcd.org

Classroom volunteers, office administrative support, group projects

https://www.cpcdheadstart.org

Inside Out: LGBTQ Youth Services Tyescha Clark

(719) 400-5582

tyescha@insideoutys.org

Seeking supportive and outgoing individuals age 25+ to facilitate center hours and drop-in programming; event assistance, and more.

https://www.insideoutys.org/volunteer/

Junior Achievement

Lauren Kunze

(719) 636-2474 x 1025

lauren.kunze@ja.org

Staffing for events

www.juniorachievement.org

Kingdom Builders Family Life Center Lisa Jenkins

(719) 464-6676

info@kingdombuildersfamilylifecenter.org

Staffing community events

kingdombuildersfamilylifecenter.org

Mission Medical Center

Barb Cronin

(719) 219-3402

barb.cronin@missionmedicalclinic.org

Assisting the uninsured with healthcare

www.missionmedicalclinic.org/volunteer

More Than A Meal Inc.

Randy Sirota

(719) 447-5009

morethanamealcs@gmail.com

Setting up, Serving food, General support

www.morethanameal.org

Mt. Carmel Center of Excellence

Shawna Dusharm

(719) 309-4715

 

Greeting, Connecting, and Caring for veterans

veteranscenter.org/volunteer

Pikes Peak Children's Museum    education@pikespeakchildrensmuseum.org

To see the volunteer opportunities available:

https://tinyurl.com/PPCMVolunteer

PPCC Office of Sustainability Konrad Schlarbaum

(719) 502-2342

sustainability@ppcc.edu

Cleaning the creek, and much more

www.ppcc.edu/sustainability

The Red Cross Ashley Turner

(719) 439-2029

ashley.turner@redcross.org

Emergency aid workers

www.redcross.org/local/colorado/volunteer

The Resource Exchange

Jen De Franco 

HR Director

(719) 785-6441

Jdefranco@tre.org

Support operations, Community-based research

Volunteer Needs: Break Time (children’s respite program), Go Baby Go, other fundraising and marketing activities.

www.tre.org

Rocky Mountain Field Institute

Savannah Robar

Volunteer & Partnership Coordinator

719-471-7736 ext. 4
savannah@rmfi.org

Environmental stewardship opportunities for a variety of volunteers ranging in age, skill, and interest.

https://www.rmfi.org/learn-about-volunteering

Rogers Reading Buddies

Julie O'Dell

(719) 328-3300

odll@d11.org

Reading with elementary school students

www.d11.org

Ronald McDonald House

Charities

Emily Odiwuor

(719) 375-3871

emily@rmhcsoutherncolorado.org

Office support, Staffing family rooms

www.rmhc.org/volunteer

Safehouse Progressive Alliance for Nonviolence

Katie Dobbins

(303) 444-2424

katie@safehousealliance.org

Staffing events, Fundraising, and more

www.safehousealliance.org

Salvation Army

Alma Scott

(719) 636-5266

raewyn.aspeitia@usw.salvationarmy.org

Doing activities with kids, Processing donations

coloradosprings.salvationarmy.org

SET Family Medical Clinics

Peggy Herbertson

(719) 776-8850

peggyherbertson@centura.org

Writing patient stories for clinic newsletter

www.centura.org/locations/set-family-medical-clinic

United Way

 

 

 

https://www.ppunitedway.org/i-can-volunteer/

 

 

Victory Service Dogs Travis Nelson

(719) 351-4797

travis.nelson86@yahoo.com

Fostering a service dog, Office support, Event staffing

victorysd.org/volunteer

Westside CARES

Debra Mitgaurd

719-389-0759 Ext. 108

debra.mitgaurd@westsidecares.org

Front desk reception, Advocating for neighbors

westsidecares.org/volunteer