Skip to main content

How PPCC's Governance is Structured

PPCC was established as El Paso Community College in 1968 with the legislative mission to provide vocational and liberal arts programs to students from the Pikes Peak Region of Colorado. The College became a member of the Colorado Community College System (CCCS) in 1968. The CCCS comprises the state’s largest system of higher education, overseeing 13 community colleges and serving over 135,000 students annually. The CCCS mission is to provide an accessible, responsive learning environment where  students can achieve their educational, professional and personal goals in an atmosphere that embraces academic excellence, diversity and innovation.

In 1985, the Colorado State Legislature passed House Bill 1187, which established the State Board for Community Colleges and Occupational Education (SBCCOE or Board) as the governing body of the CCCS. The Board consists of nine voting members who have demonstrated significant achievements in a broad range of public, private and non-profit organizations. Voting members are appointed by the Governor and confirmed by the Senate. 

Recognizing the importance of faculty and student voices in its decision-making process, the Board also comprises one faculty member who represents the State Faculty Advisory Council and one student who represents the State Student Advisory Council. Both the student and the faculty board members serve in an advisory capacity, making motions, speaking in debate and/or serving on committees.  

Pursuant to Board Policy 2-25, PPCC has established an Advisory Council whose membership is representative of the diverse constituencies within its three-county service area. One of the main purposes of the PPCC Advisory Council is to serve as liaison between the College and its external constituencies (e.g., employers, school boards, county commissioners, city councils).

PPCC has been accredited by the Higher Learning Commission (HLC) since 1975 and officially joined the Open Pathway in 2016.