Skip to main content

PPCC honors faculty, students and staff for their outstanding contributions to PPCC in diversity, equity and inclusion.

PPCC's Office of Diversity, Equity & Inclusion held its first DEI award ceremony last week to honor PPCC stakeholders for their outstanding contributions to PPCC that support the DEI Vision and Mission statements.

Vision: To strive for a more unified campus where all people are valued, treated fairly, and possess a sense of belonging.

Mission: To support the success of all Pikes Peak Community College students, employees and community partners by exercising culturally responsive teaching and providing programs and events designed to create an inclusive campus environment that reflects and enriches the communities that we serve.

Congratulations to PPCC's 2017 DEI Award Recipients:

  • DEI Faculty of the Year - Katherine Sturdevant, Professor, Communications, Humanities, and Technical Studies (not pictured)
  • DEI Staff Member of the Year - Kristina Charfauros, Administrative Assistant, Student Life (Pictured second from right.)
  • DEI Student of the Year - Nzallah Whong, Global Village Facilitator (Pictured at far left.)


The Faculty Service Committee Award was also presented at this ceremony to the campus Police Department. The award was accepted by PPCC Police Chief Jim Barkentine. (Pictured at far right.)