Make a Difference

Connect with these community partners and get involved!

Young woman volunteer talking to older woman
NEW SERVICE OPPORTUNITY:

Rogers Reading Buddies

This program seeks to pair 2nd-5th grade Will Rogers Elementary School students with an adult reading partner after school each Monday and Thursday, beginning September 9, 2019 through December 12, 2019 from 2:50 pm to 4:00 pm. It's specifically geared toward helping academically struggling students increase their abilities and confidence. Will Rogers strives on a daily basis to inspire these young minds to current and future success. If you're a PPCC student seeking experience working with elementary-age students, then Rogers Reading Buddies is a perfect opportunity!

For more information on this project, check out the flyer here!

You can also contact Julie O'Dell - email odll@d11.org, or call (719) 328-3300.

Featured Charity:

The Red Cross

The mission of the Red Cross is to prevent and alleviate human suffering in the face of emergency. They aim to empower students with hands-on experience and developing new skills while giving back to the Colorado Springs community.

At the Red Cross, students will have the opportunity to work in teams or independently to explore career opportunities and help tackle relevant issues alongside our staff members.

To get involved, contact:

Marie McQuillan

(719) 439-2029

marie.mcquillan@redcross.org

“Unless someone like you cares a whole awful lot, nothing is going to get better. It’s not."

- Dr. Seuss

More Ways to Serve:

Organization: Contact: Phone/Email: Volunteer Needs/Website:
Rogers Reading Buddies

Julie O'Dell

(719) 328-3300

odll@d11.org

Reading with elementary school students

www.d11.org

The Red Cross Marie McQuillan

(719) 439-2029

marie.mcquillan@redcross.org

Emergency aid workers

www.redcross.org/local/colorado/volunteer

Ronald McDonald House Charities Emily Odiwuor

(719) 375-3871

emily@rmhcsoutherncolorado.org

Office support, Staffing family rooms

www.rmhc.org/volunteer

PPCC Office of Sustainability Konrad Schlarbaum

(719) 502-2342

sustainability@ppcc.edu

Cleaning the creek, and much more

www.ppcc.edu/sustainability

Junior Achievement

Lauren Kunze

(719) 636-2474 x 1025

lauren.kunze@ja.org

Staffing for events

www.juniorachievement.org

Haseya Advocate Program Raquel

(719) 896-2560 x 101

raquel@red-wind.net

Addressing violence against women

http://www.haseya.org

The Resource Exchange Nichole Guerra

(719) 785-6441

nguerra@tre.org

Support operations, Community-based research

www.tre.org

The Council of Neighborhood Organizations Sara

(719) 471-3105

sara@cono.org

Revitalizing neighborhoods

www.cscono.org

Kingdom Builders Family Life Center Lisa Jenkins

(719) 464-6676

info@kingdombuildersfamilylifecenter.org

Staffing community events

kingdombuildersfamilylifecenter.org

Boys & Girls Club

Jrace Rider

(719) 570-7077

jrider@bgcppr.org

Doing activities with kids

www.bgcppr.org/volunteer

Children's Literacy Center

Pamela Polke

(719) 471-8672

pamela@childrensliteracycenter.org 

Reading to children

www.childrensliteracycenter.org/volunteer-to-tutor

Safehouse Progressive Alliance for Nonviolence

Katie Dobbins

(303) 444-2424

katie@safehousealliance.org

Staffing events, Fundraising, and more

www.safehousealliance.org

Salvation Army

Alma Scott

(719) 636-5266

raewyn.aspeitia@usw.salvationarmy.org

Doing activities with kids, Processing donations

coloradosprings.salvationarmy.org

More Than A Meal Inc.

Randy Sirota

(719) 447-5009

morethanamealcs@gmail.com

Setting up, Serving food, General support

www.morethanameal.org

Discover Goodwill

Grace Vigil

(719) 785-9229

gvigil@discovermygoodwill.org

Processing donations, and much more

www.discovermygoodwill.org/get-involved/volunteer

Westside CARES

Kristy Milligan

(719) 389-0759

kristy.milligan@westsidecares.org

Front desk reception, Advocating for neighbors

westsidecares.org/volunteer

Mission Medical Center

Kylie Gibson

(719) 219-3402

kylie.gibson@mmccs.org

Assisting the uninsured with healthcare

www.missionmedicalclinic.org/volunteer

SET Family Medical Clinics

Peggy Herbertson

(719) 776-8850

peggyherbertson@centura.org

Writing patient stories for clinic newsletter

www.centura.org/locations/set-family-medical-clinic

Ben's Blankets

Lexie Molina

(719) 502-9391

alex@bensblankets.org

Machine-sewing blankets

https://www.bensblankets.org/contributions

Catholic Volunteer Network

Cassie Kienbaum

(301) 270-0900

ckienbaum@catholicvolunteernetwork.org

Many opportunies in the U.S. and abroad

catholicvolunteernetwork.org/choose-service

Colorado Mission of Mercy

Pam

(720) 648-0919

pamcomom@gmail.com

Staffing events, Dental assisting

comom.org/volunteer

Mt. Carmel Center of Excellence

Jacque Bauer

(719) 309-4711

jbauer@mtcarmelcenter.org

Greeting, Connecting, and Caring for veterans

veteranscenter.org/volunteer

Victory Service Dogs Travis Nelson

(719) 351-4797

travis.nelson86@yahoo.com

Fostering a service dog, Office support, Event staffing

victorysd.org/volunteer