Skip to main content

Connect with community partners, get involved, and make a difference

Young woman volunteer talking to older woman
NEW SERVICE OPPORTUNITY:

Rogers Reading Buddies

This program seeks to pair 2nd-5th grade Will Rogers Elementary School students with an adult reading partner after school each Monday and Thursday, beginning September 9, 2019 through December 12, 2019 from 2:50 pm to 4:00 pm. It's specifically geared toward helping academically struggling students increase their abilities and confidence. Will Rogers strives on a daily basis to inspire these young minds to current and future success. If you're a PPCC student seeking experience working with elementary-age students, then Rogers Reading Buddies is a perfect opportunity!

For more information on this project, check out the flyer here!

You can also contact Julie O'Dell - email odll@d11.org, or call (719) 328-3300.

Featured Charity:

The Red Cross

The mission of the Red Cross is to prevent and alleviate human suffering in the face of emergency. They aim to empower students with hands-on experience and developing new skills while giving back to the Colorado Springs community.

At the Red Cross, students will have the opportunity to work in teams or independently to explore career opportunities and help tackle relevant issues alongside our staff members.

To get involved, contact:

Marie McQuillan

(719) 439-2029

marie.mcquillan@redcross.org

“Unless someone like you cares a whole awful lot, nothing is going to get better. It’s not."

- Dr. Seuss

More Ways to Serve:

Organization: Contact: Phone/Email: Volunteer Needs/Website:
Rogers Reading Buddies

Julie O'Dell

(719) 328-3300

odll@d11.org

Reading with elementary school students

www.d11.org

Big Brother, Big Sister Nick Maiurro

(719) 568-4857

NickM@biglittlecolorado.org

Youth mentoring opportunities

www.BigLittleColorado.org

The Red Cross Marie McQuillan

(719) 439-2029

marie.mcquillan@redcross.org

Emergency aid workers

www.redcross.org/local/colorado/volunteer

Head Start Delberta Uvalle

719-232-5406

duvalle@cpcd.org

Classroom volunteers, office administrative support, group projects

https://www.cpcdheadstart.org

Catholic Charities of Central Colorado Doug Rouse

719-636-2345

drouse@ccharitiescc.org 

Various opportunities, including Marion House Soup Kitchen. More info and volunteer form at: https://www.ccharitiescc.org/donate/volunteer/

Inside Out: LGBTQ Youth Services Tyescha Clark

(719) 400-5582

tyescha@insideoutys.org

Seeking supportive and outgoing individuals age 25+ to facilitate center hours and drop-in programming; event assistance, and more.

https://www.insideoutys.org/volunteer/

Ronald McDonald House

Charities

Emily Odiwuor

(719) 375-3871

emily@rmhcsoutherncolorado.org

Office support, Staffing family rooms

www.rmhc.org/volunteer

Cool Science Marc Straub

719-964-1042

marc@coolscience.org

Assisting with student science demonstrations; Annual Cool Science Carnival, and more

https://www.coolscience.org/

CASA of Pikes Peak Region Uriko Stout

719-447-9898  ext 1060

UrikoS@casappr.org

Advocacy opportunities, educational and enrichment opportunities for children; and more

https://www.casappr.org/volunteer-colorado-springs/

PPCC Office of Sustainability Konrad Schlarbaum

(719) 502-2342

sustainability@ppcc.edu

Cleaning the creek, and much more

www.ppcc.edu/sustainability

Junior Achievement

Lauren Kunze

(719) 636-2474 x 1025

lauren.kunze@ja.org

Staffing for events

www.juniorachievement.org

Haseya Advocate Program Raquel

(719) 896-2560 x 101

raquel@red-wind.net

Addressing violence against women

http://www.haseya.org

The Resource Exchange Nichole Guerra

(719) 785-6441

nguerra@tre.org

Support operations, Community-based research

www.tre.org

Rocky Mountain Field Institute Molly Mazel

(719) 471-7736

molly@rmfi.org

Environmental stewardship opportunities for a variety of folunteers ranging in age, skill, and interest.

https://www.rmfi.org/learn-about-volunteering

The Council of Neighborhood Organizations Sara

(719) 471-3105

sara@cono.org

Revitalizing neighborhoods

www.cscono.org

Kingdom Builders Family Life Center Lisa Jenkins

(719) 464-6676

info@kingdombuildersfamilylifecenter.org

Staffing community events

kingdombuildersfamilylifecenter.org

Boys & Girls Club

Maurice Henson

Jrace Rider

(719) 570-7077

mhenson@bgcppr.org; jrider@bgcppr.org

Doing activities with kids

www.bgcppr.org/volunteer

Children's Literacy Center

Sandy McGraw

(719) 471-8672

sandy@childrensliteracycenter.org

Reading to children

www.childrensliteracycenter.org/volunteer-to-tutor

Safehouse Progressive Alliance for Nonviolence

Katie Dobbins

(303) 444-2424

katie@safehousealliance.org

Staffing events, Fundraising, and more

www.safehousealliance.org

Salvation Army

Alma Scott

(719) 636-5266

raewyn.aspeitia@usw.salvationarmy.org

Doing activities with kids, Processing donations

coloradosprings.salvationarmy.org

More Than A Meal Inc.

Randy Sirota

(719) 447-5009

morethanamealcs@gmail.com

Setting up, Serving food, General support

www.morethanameal.org

Discover Goodwill

Grace Vigil

(719) 785-9229

gvigil@discovermygoodwill.org

Processing donations, and much more

www.discovermygoodwill.org/get-involved/volunteer

Westside CARES

Kristy Milligan

(719) 389-0759

kristy.milligan@westsidecares.org

Front desk reception, Advocating for neighbors

westsidecares.org/volunteer

Mission Medical Center

Barb Cronin

(719) 219-3402

barb.cronin@missionmedicalclinic.org

Assisting the uninsured with healthcare

www.missionmedicalclinic.org/volunteer

SET Family Medical Clinics

Peggy Herbertson

(719) 776-8850

peggyherbertson@centura.org

Writing patient stories for clinic newsletter

www.centura.org/locations/set-family-medical-clinic

Ben's Blankets

Lexie Dillon

(719) 502-9391

alex@bensblankets.org

Machine-sewing blankets

https://www.bensblankets.org/contributions

IMPORTANT: Students must know how to sew or be willing to learn.

Catholic Volunteer Network

Cassie Kienbaum

(301) 270-0900

ckienbaum@catholicvolunteernetwork.org

Many opportunities in the U.S. and abroad

catholicvolunteernetwork.org/choose-service

Colorado Mission of Mercy

Pam

(720) 648-0919

pamcomom@gmail.com

Staffing events, Dental assisting

comom.org/volunteer

Mt. Carmel Center of Excellence

Shawna Dusharm

(719) 309-4715

 

Greeting, Connecting, and Caring for veterans

veteranscenter.org/volunteer

Victory Service Dogs Travis Nelson

(719) 351-4797

travis.nelson86@yahoo.com

Fostering a service dog, Office support, Event staffing

victorysd.org/volunteer